Fifth Ballot : White smoke (Fumata bianca). A new Pope has been elected. Habemus Papam!

Habemus Papam! We have a Pope!

549289_509082082489147_147052586_n

‘Holy’ Seagull on the Chimney of Sistine Chapel

Image

Here is an image of the seagull that perches itself on top of the famous chimney from where the smoke signal will appear whether the new Pope had been elected or not.

The Holy Spirit? maybe, though I think dove would be an appropriate form, but well, one thing I am sure, that God is watching and inspiring all of His Cardinal-electors through the Holy Spirit!

Time to watch for smoke from the Sistine Chapel chimney

Image

These are the times to watch the smoke from the Sistine Chapel’s famous chimney.

As mentioned :

1. First and third ballot of the day will only have smoke if the Pope has been elected. This smoke will always be white.

 

2. Second and fourth ballot of the day will always have smoke, and can either be black or white.

a. Black smoke : no Pope has been elected

b. White smoke : a new Pope has been elected

 

3. 45 minutes will pass between the white smoke, and the appearance of the Cardinal Protodeacon, who will announce the Habemus Papam, which will reveal the name of the newly elected Pope, then another 15 minutes will likely pass before the new Pope made his appearance.

Third Ballot : Black smoke from the chimney of Sistine Chapel. No Pope had been elected yet.

6de75351b30a02082c0f6a706700aa80

At around 11.45 am in the morning on Wednesday, 13 March 2013 in Rome, black smoke poured out of the chimney of the Sistine Chapel, slightly earlier than predicted. Therefore, as of the third ballot we do not have a new Pope elected yet.

Be prepared for the fourth ballot, since it is just possible that in that ballot a new Pope will be elected, since if there is a clear candidate that is worthy of election, the Cardinal-electors may converge on him, and the election may occur at the fourth ballot, if not then the fifth ballot.

Keep praying for our Cardinal-electors!

Second Ballot : No smoke. No Pope had been elected yet

As there was no ‘early’ smoke on Wednesday morning, 13 March 2013 in Rome, it is safe to assume that no Pope had been elected in the second ballot. This is because, instead of the usual 2 ballots per session then burn the ballots of both together at the end (session = morning/afternoon), if a Pope is elected on the first of these two ballots, the second ballot will obviously not take place, and thus, the smoke will be early, and will definitely also be white.

This was also the early sign that a Pope had been elected in 2005, when the afternoon smoke went early (this was after the fourth ballot, first of two afternoon ballots) at near 6 pm Rome time, when the smoke, which should have been later if no Pope was elected.

It may be more likely that the white smoke will appear after the third ballot, or the fourth ballot.

Watch live at : http://www.romereports.com/palio/modules.php?name=Content3&pa=showpage&newlang=english&pid=47#.UUA0qBzLoj7

A Timetable of the First Day of Conclave

What will happen today in the first day of the Conclave (Tuesday, 12 March 2013)? All the time noted below are in Rome time (CET, Central European Time, 1 hour ahead of UTC (UTC+1)).

Some event are live from Vatican Player at http://www.vatican.va/video/ and the live recording from Rome Reports : http://www.romereports.com/palio/modules.php?name=Content3&pa=showpage&newlang=english&pid=47#.UT4XGVeJegH

 

1. (Live) Mass for the Election of the Roman Pontiff / Missa pro Eligendo Pontifice : 10 am. This Mass will officially begin the Conclave and will be offered for prayers for the election of the Pope.

2. Cardinal-electors leave the Domus Sancta Marthae where they stay for the Pauline Chapel : 3.45 pm

3. (Live) Cardinal-electors begin the procession into Sistine Chapel from Pauline Chapel, while singing Veni Creator Spiritus and the Litany of the Saints : 4.30 pm

4. (Live) Oath of secrecy by the Cardinal-electors and the extra omnes order by Monsignor Guido Marini : 4.45 pm, then meditation by Cardinal Prosper Grech of Malta (2nd meditation)

5. Conclave and first ballot : about 5 pm – 7 pm, smoke should appear between 7-8 pm Rome time. If white, means a new Pope has been elected, but this is unlikely to happen. (Smoke and the chimney can be seen live through either Vatican Player or Rome Reports page I mentioned above)

6. Vespers celebrated by the Cardinal-electors : 7.15 pm

7. Cardinal-electors return to Domus Sancta Marthae, their residence during the period of the Conclave : 7.30 pm

 

These are just rough timing, and as this is the first ballot, the Cardinal-electors may still need time, especially the first-timers, in getting used to the rules and proceedings of the Conclave and thus might be delayed slightly.

Times to watch for the smoke signal from the Sistine Chapel

Image

Here are the times when the smoke signals (black or white) will pour out of the chimney and be visible to the public, as the first sign whether the Cardinal-electors had succeeded or failed to elect a new Pope in the previous ballot session.

 

1. Smoke after 1st ballot (The only Tuesday ballot session, 1st day):

Tuesday, 12 March 2013 at 8 pm Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Tuesday, 12 March 2013 at 7 pm UTC

Tuesday, 12 March 2013 at 2 pm EST (UTC-5)

Tuesday, 12 March 2013 at 11 am PST (UTC-8)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 2 am WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 3 am Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

2. Smoke after 2nd ballot (1st Wednesday morning ballot, 2nd day) : A new Pope is likely to have been elected (if no pope elected after the 2nd ballot, the Cardinal-electors will continue directly to 3rd ballot, and the two ballots will be burned together after the 3rd ballot) :

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 11.30 am Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 10.30 am UTC

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 5.30 am EST (UTC-5)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 2.30 am PST (UTC-8)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 5.30 pm WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 6.30 pm Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

3. Smoke after 3rd ballot (2nd Wednesday morning ballot, 2nd day) :

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 1 pm Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 12 pm UTC

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 7 am EST (UTC-5)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 4 am PST (UTC-8)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 7 pm WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 8 pm Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

4. Smoke after 4th ballot (1st Wednesday afternoon ballot, 2nd day) : A new Pope is likely to have been elected

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 6.30 pm Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 5.30 pm UTC

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 12.30 pm EST (UTC-5)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 9.30 am PST (UTC-8)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 00.30 am WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 1.30 am Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

5. Smoke after 5th ballot (2nd Wednesday afternoon ballot, 2nd day) :

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 8 pm Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 7 pm UTC

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 2 pm EST (UTC-5)

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 11 am PST (UTC-8)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 2 am WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 3 am Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

6. Smoke after 6th ballot (1st Thursday morning ballot, 3rd day) : A new Pope is likely to have been elected :

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 11.30 am Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 10.30 am UTC

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 5.30 am EST (UTC-5)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 2.30 am PST (UTC-8)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 5.30 pm WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 6.30 pm Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

7. Smoke after 7th ballot (2nd Thursday morning ballot, 3rd day) :

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 1 pm Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 12 pm UTC

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 7 am EST (UTC-5)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 4 am PST (UTC-8)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 7 pm WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 8 pm Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

8. Smoke after 8th ballot (1st Thursday afternoon ballot, 3rd day) : A new Pope is likely to have been elected

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 6.30 pm Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 5.30 pm UTC

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 12.30 pm EST (UTC-5)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 9.30 am PST (UTC-8)

Friday, 15 March 2013 at 00.30 am WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Friday, 15 March 2013 at 1.30 am Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

9. Smoke after 9th ballot (2nd Thursday afternoon ballot, 3rd day) :

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 8 pm Rome time (CET/UTC+1)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 7 pm UTC

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 2 pm EST (UTC-5)

Thursday, 14 March 2013 at 11 am PST (UTC-8)

Friday, 15 March 2013 at 2 am WIB (Indonesia, Thailand, etc.) (UTC+7)

Friday, 15 March 2013 at 3 am Singapore time (UTC+8)

 

If until at this point, no one has yet been elected the Pope, they will adjourn for a maximum of one full day for prayer, discernment and consideration. To think and really find out who should be the next Pope. The cycle continues again with the other 3 day ballots, and then break if the Cardinals fail to pick a suitable candidate, and these proceedings will continue until a new Pope had been elected.

If this conclave is fast, as it is expected to be, due to the incoming Holy Week and other mattters, we do not even need to refer to the timing I placed for the later ballots.

Nevertheless, regardless what happens, God is always with us, and He will certainly choose the best one available for the position.